







MINUTES ANNUAL BOARD MEETING May 27, 2025

1. Roll Call:

The annual meeting of the Hoffman Estates Park District Board of Commissioners was held on May 28, 2024 at 7:45 p.m. at the Triphahn Center in Hoffman Estates, IL.

Present: Commissioners Chhatwani, Dressler, Evans, Friedman, Kaplan, and

MacGregor

Absent: Commissioner McGinn

Also Present: Executive Director Talsma, Executive Assistant Flynn, Deputy Director

Bechtold, Director of Administrative Services Rivas, Director of

Recreation Sweeney

Audience: None

2. Approval of Agenda:

Commissioner Kaplan made a motion, seconded by Commissioner MacGregor to approve the agenda as presented. The motion carried by voice vote.

3. Comments from the Audience:

None

4. <u>Election of Officers:</u>

A. President:

Commissioner Evans made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Chhatwani to open the nominations for President. Motion carried by voice vote.

Commissioner Chhatwani made a motion, seconded by Commissioner MacGregor to nominate Marc Friedman for President.

Commissioner MacGregor made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Kaplan to close the nominations for president. The motion carried by voice vote.









Commissioner Chhatwani asked for the vote to approve Marc Friedman for president. The motion carried by voice vote.

B. Vice President:

Commissioner MacGregor made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Dressler to open the nominations for Vice President. Motion carried by voice vote.

President Friedman made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Kaplan to nominate Raj Chhatwani for Vice President.

Commissioner Evans made a motion, seconded by Commissioner MacGregor to close the nominations for Vice President. The motion carried by voice vote.

President Friedman asked for a vote to approve Raj Chhatwani for Vice President. The motion carried by voice vote.

5. Appointment of Officers:

A. Treasurer:

Commissioner Dressler made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Chhatwani to appoint Commissioner Kaplan as Treasurer. The motion carried by voice vote.

B. Assistant Treasurer:

Commissioner MacGregor made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Kaplan to appoint Director of Finance & IT Nicole Hopkins as Assistant Treasurer. The motion carried by voice vote.

C. Secretary:

Commissioner MacGregor made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Chhatwani to appoint Executive Director Talsma as Secretary. The motion carried by voice vote.

D. Assistant Secretary:

Commissioner Kaplan made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Chhatwani to appoint Commissioner Evans as Assistant Secretary. The motion carried by voice vote.









6. Annual Appointments:

A. Attorney:

Commissioner Kaplan made a motion, seconded by Commissioner MacGregor to appoint Steve Adams of Robbins Schwartz as Attorney for the park district. The motion carried by voice vote.

B. NWSRA Member District Representative:

Commissioner Kaplan made a motion, seconded by Commissioner MacGregor to appoint Executive Director Talsma as NWSRA Member District Representative. The motion carried by voice vote.

C. NWSRA Member District Alternate Representative:

Commissioner Chhatwani made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Dresler to appoint Deputy Director Bechtold as NWSRA Member District Alternate Representative. The motion carried by voice vote.

Executive Director Talsma noted a recent change at NWSRA: Effective June 1, Andrea Griffith, former Superintendent of Recreation, will be the new Executive Director.

7. <u>Committee Appointments:</u>

A. Administration & Finance Committee:

Commissioner MacGregor made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Dressler to appoint Commissioner McGinn as Chairman of the Administration & Finance Committee and Commissioner Kaplan as the Vice Chairman. The motion carried by voice vote.

Commissioner MacGregor made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Kaplan to appoint Lon Harner, Kathy Musial, Denise Wilson, and Steve Winner as Community Representatives to the Administration & Finance Committee. The motion carried by voice vote.

B. Buildings & Grounds Committee:

Commissioner Kaplan made a motion, seconded by Commissioner MacGregor to appoint Commissioner Chhatwani as Chairman of the Building & Grounds Committee and Commissioner Evans as the Vice Chairman. The motion carried by voice vote.









Commissioner MacGregor made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Kaplan to appoint Suzanne Poeschel, Lauren Sernett, Jonathan Pilafas, and Maggie Dowling as Community Representatives to the Building & Grounds Committee. The motion carried by voice vote.

C. Recreation & Facilities Committee:

Commissioner Kaplan made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Chhatwani to appoint Commissioner Dressler as Chairman of the Recreation & Facilities Committee and Commissioner MacGregor as Vice Chairman. The motion carried by voice vote.

Commissioner MacGregor made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Dressler to appoint Chad Bettencourt, Pearl Henderson, and Mandar Kulkarni as Community Representatives to the Recreation & Facilities Committee. The motion carried by voice vote.

D. Senior Liaison:

Commissioner Chhatwani made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Kaplan to appoint Commissioner Dressler as the Liaison for the Senior Commission. The motion carried by voice vote.

E. Hoffman in Motion Commissioner Liaison:

Commissioner MacGregor made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Kaplan to appoint Commissioner Evans as the Hoffman in Motion Commissioner Liaison. The motion carried by voice vote.

F. Executive Director Review Committee Chairman:

Commissioner Dressler made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Kaplan to appoint President Friedman as Chairman of the Executive Director Review Committee. The motion carried by voice vote.

8. <u>Commissioner Comments:</u>

None

9. Adjournment:

Commissioner MacGregor made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Chhatwani to adjourn the meeting at 8:10 p.m. The motion carried by voice vote.









Respectfully submitted,

Craig Talsma Secretary

Cindy Flynn Executive Assistant