







MINUTES ANNUAL BOARD MEETING May 23, 2023

1. Roll Call:

The annual meeting of the Hoffman Estates Park District Board of Commissioners was held on May 23, 2023 at 8:43 p.m. at the Triphahn Center in Hoffman Estates, IL.

Present: Commissioners Chhatwani, Dressler, Evans, Friedman, Kaplan, Kinnane

and McGinn

Absent: None

Also Present: Executive Director Talsma, Executive Assistant Flynn

Audience: None

2. Approval of Agenda:

Commissioner Chhatwani made a motion, seconded by Commissioner McGinn to approve the agenda as presented. The motion carried by voice vote.

3. Comments from the Audience:

None

4. <u>Election of Officers:</u>

A. <u>President:</u>

Commissioner Kaplan made a motion, seconded by Commissioner McGinn to open the nominations for President. Motion carried by voice vote.

Commissioner Kaplan made a motion, seconded by Commissioner McGinn to nominate Pat Kinnane for President.

Commissioner Dressler made a motion, seconded by Commissioner McGinn to close the nominations for president. The motion carried by voice vote.









Commissioner Kinnane asked for the vote to approve Pat Kinnane for president. The motion carried by voice vote.

B. Vice President:

Commissioner McGinn made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Kaplan to open the nominations for Vice President. Motion carried by voice vote.

Commissioner Dressler made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Kaplan to nominate Raj Chhatwani for Vice President.

Commissioner Dressler made a motion, seconded by Commissioner McGinn to close the nominations for Vice President. The motion carried by voice vote.

President Kinnane asked for a vote to approve Raj Chhatwani for Vice President. The motion carried by voice vote.

5. **Appointment of Officers:**

A. Treasurer:

Commissioner Chhatwani made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Evans to appoint Commissioner McGinn as Treasurer. The motion carried by voice vote.

B. Assistant Treasurer:

Commissioner Kaplan made a motion, seconded by Commissioner McGinn to appoint Director of Finance & Admin Nicole Hopkins as Assistant Treasurer. The motion carried by voice vote.

C. Secretary:

Commissioner Kaplan made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Dressler to appoint Executive Director Talsma as Secretary. The motion carried by voice vote.

D. Assistant Secretary:

Commissioner Kaplan made a motion, seconded by Commissioner McGinn to appoint Commissioner Dressler as Assistant Secretary. The motion carried by voice vote.









6. Annual Appointments:

A. Attorney:

Commissioner Kaplan made a motion, seconded by Commissioner McGinn to appoint Steve Adams of Robbins Schwartz as Attorney for the park district. The motion carried by voice vote.

B. NWSRA Member District Representative:

Commissioner Chhatwani made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Kaplan to appoint Executive Director Talsma as NWSRA Member District Representative. The motion carried by voice vote.

C. <u>NWSRA Member District Alternate Representative:</u>

Commissioner Chhatwani made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Kaplan to appoint Director of Golf & Facilities Bechtold as NWSRA Member District Alternate Representative. The motion carried by voice vote.

7. <u>Committee Appointments:</u>

A. Administration & Finance Committee:

Commissioner Dressler made a motion, seconded by Commissioner McGinn to appoint Commissioner McGinn as Chairman of the Administration & Finance Committee and Commissioner Chhatwani as the Vice Chairman. The motion carried by voice vote.

Commissioner Dressler made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Chhatwani to appoint Lon Harner, Mandar Kulkarni, Kathy Musial, Denise Wilson and Steve Winner as Community Representatives to the Administration & Finance Committee. The motion carried by voice vote.

B. Buildings & Grounds Committee:

Commissioner Dressler made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Kaplan to appoint Commissioner Kaplan as Chairman of the Building & Grounds Committee and Commissioner Evans as the Vice Chairman. The motion carried by voice vote.

Commissioner Kaplan made a motion, seconded by Commissioner McGinn to appoint Ron Evans, Ian Macdonald, Suzanne Poeschel, Lauren Sernett and Joe Utas as Community Representatives to the Building & Grounds Committee. The motion carried by voice vote.









C. Recreation & Facilities Committee:

Commissioner Kaplan made a motion, seconded by Commissioner McGinn to appoint Commissioner Dressler as Chairman of the Recreation & Facilities Committee and Commissioner Friedman as Vice Chairman. The motion carried by voice vote.

Commissioner Kaplan made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Dressler to appoint Lizzie Beranek, Chad Bettencourt, Pearl Henderson, Chris MacGregor and Jonathan Pilafas as Community Representatives to the Recreation & Facilities Committee. The motion carried by voice vote.

D. Senior Liaison:

Commissioner McGinn made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Chhatwani to appoint Commissioner Dressler as the Liaison for the Senior Commission. The motion carried by voice vote.

E. <u>Village Bicycle and Pedestrian Advisory Committee Liaison:</u>

Commissioner Chhatwani made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Kaplan to appoint Commissioner Evans as the Liaison for the Village Bicycle and Pedestrian Advisory Committee. The motion carried by voice vote.

F. Executive Director Review Committee Chairman:

Commissioner Kaplan made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Dressler to appoint President Kinnane as Chairman of the Executive Director Review Committee. The motion carried by voice vote.

8. <u>Commissioner Comments:</u>

None

9. Adjournment:

Commissioner Chhatwani made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Kaplan to adjourn the meeting at 8:52 p.m. The motion carried by voice vote.

Respectfully submitted,

Craig Talsma Secretary

Cindy Flynn Executive Assistant