



1685 West Higgins Road, Hoffman Estates, Illinois 60169 **heparks.org** t (847) 885-7500 f (847) 885-7523

MINUTES ANNUAL BOARD MEETING May 17, 2022

1. Roll Call:

The annual meeting of the Hoffman Estates Park District Board of Commissioners was held on May 17, 2022 at 8:10 p.m. at the Triphahn Center in Hoffman Estates, IL.

Present: Commissioners Chhatwani, Dressler, Evans, Friedman, Kaplan,

Kinnane and McGinn

Absent: None

Also Present: Executive Director Talsma, Director of Parks, Planning and

Maintenance Hugen, Director of Recreation Kapusinski, Director

of Golf and Facilities Bechtold

Audience: Comm Rep Evans

2. Approval of Agenda:

Commissioner McGinn made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Dressler to approve the agenda as presented. The motion carried by voice vote.

3. <u>Comments from the Audience:</u>

None

4. <u>Election of Officers:</u>

A. President:

Commissioner McGinn made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Chhatwani to open the nominations for President. Motion carried by voice vote.

Commissioner Kaplan made a motion, seconded by Commissioner McGinn to nominate Pat Kinnane for President.

Commissioner Dressler made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Chhatwani to close the nominations for president. The motion carried by voice vote.

Commissioner Kinnane asked for the vote to approve Pat Kinnane for president. The motion carried by voice vote.

B. Vice President:

Commissioner Dressler made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Kaplan to open the nominations for Vice President. Motion carried by voice vote.

President Kinnane made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Friedman to nominate Robert Kaplan for Vice President.

Commissioner Kaplan made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Dressler to close the nominations for Vice President. The motion carried by voice vote.

President Kinnane asked for a vote to approve Robert Kaplan for Vice President. The motion carried by voice vote.

5. **Appointment of Officers:**

A. Treasurer:

Commissioner Evans made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Chhatwani to appoint Commissioner Dressler as Treasurer. The motion carried by voice vote.

B. Assistant Treasurer:

Commissioner Kaplan made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Dressler to appoint Director of Finance & Admin Nicole Hopkins as Assistant Treasurer. The motion carried by voice vote.

C. Secretary:

Commissioner Dressler made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Kaplan to appoint Executive Director Talsma as Secretary. The motion carried by voice vote.

D. Assistant Secretary:

Commissioner Dressler made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Chhatwani to appoint Commissioner Evans as Assistant Secretary. The motion carried by voice vote.

6. **Annual Appointments:**

A. Attorney:

Commissioner Evans made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Dressler to appoint Steve Adams of Robbins Schwartz as Attorney for the park district. The motion carried by voice vote.

B. NWSRA Member District Representative:

Commissioner Chhatwani made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Kaplan to appoint Executive Director Talsma as NWSRA Member District Representative. The motion carried by voice vote.

C. NWSRA Member District Alternate Representative:

Commissioner Chhatwani made a motion, seconded by Commissioner McGinn to appoint Director of Recreation Kapusinski as NWSRA Member District Alternate Representative. The motion carried by voice vote.

7. Committee Appointments:

A. Administration & Finance Committee:

Commissioner Dressler made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Kaplan to appoint Commissioner Evans as Chairman of the Administration & Finance Committee and Commissioner McGinn as the Vice Chairman. The motion carried by voice vote.

Commissioner Evans made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Dressler to appoint Patricio Aguilar, Mandar Kulkarni, Kathy Musial, Denise Wilson and Steve Winner as Community Representatives to the Administration & Finance Committee. The motion carried by voice vote.

B. Buildings & Grounds Committee:

Commissioner McGinn made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Dressler to appoint Commissioner Chhatwani as Chairman of the Building & Grounds Committee and Commissioner Kaplan as the Vice Chairman. The motion carried by voice vote.

Commissioner McGinn made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Dressler to appoint Ron Evans, Ian Macdonald, Suzanne Poeschel, Lauren Sernett and Joe Utas as Community Representatives to the Building & Grounds Committee. The motion carried by voice vote.

C. Recreation & Facilities Committee:

Commissioner Friedman made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Kaplan to appoint Commissioner Dressler as Chairman of the Recreation & Facilities Committee and Commissioner Friedman as Vice Chairman. The motion carried by voice vote.

Commissioner Chhatwani made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Dressler to appoint Lizzie Beranek, Chad Bettencourt, Pearl Henderson, Chris MacGregor and Jen McIlrath as Community Representatives to the Recreation & Facilities Committee. The motion carried by voice vote.

D. Senior Liaison:

Commissioner Chhatwani made a motion, seconded by Commissioner McGinn to appoint Commissioner Dressler as the Liaison for the Senior Commission. The motion carried by voice vote.

E. Village Bicycle and Pedestrian Advisory Committee Liaison:

Commissioner Kaplan made a motion, seconded by Commissioner McGinn to appoint Commissioner Evans as the Liaison for the Village Bicycle and Pedestrian Advisory Committee. The motion carried by voice vote.

F. Executive Director Review Committee Chairman:

Commissioner Dressler made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Kaplan to appoint President Kinnane as Chairman of the Executive Director Review Committee. The motion carried by voice vote.

8. Commissioner Comments:

Commissioner Chhatwani congratulated all and wished everyone good luck in their new roles.

Commissioner McGinn thanked President Kinnane for staying in his role as President.

President Kinnane attended the NWSRA golf outing, which was a good event. The Friends of HEParks Foundation donated \$50,000 to NWSRA for the Vogelei project.

9. Adjournment:

Commissioner Dressler made a motion, seconded by Commissioner McGinn to adjourn the meeting at 8:55 p.m. The motion carried by voice vote.

Annual Board Meeting May 17, 2022 – Page 5

Respectfully submitted,

Craig Talsma Secretary

Cindy Flynn Executive Assistant