



1685 West Higgins Road, Hoffman Estates, Illinois 60169 **heparks.org** t (847) 885-7500 f (847) 885-7523

MINUTES ANNUAL BOARD MEETING May 26, 2020

1. Roll Call:

The annual meeting of the Hoffman Estates Park District Board of Commissioners was held on May 26, 2020 at 9:51 p.m. via ZOOM.

Present: Commissioner Chhatwani, K. Evans, R. Evans, Kilbridge,

Kinnane, McGinn, Kaplan

Absent: None

Also Present: Executive Director Talsma, Executive Assistant Logan

Audience: None

2. Approval of Agenda:

Commissioner Kilbridge made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Chhatwani to approve the agenda as presented. The motion carried by voice vote.

3. Comments from the Audience:

None

4. Election of Officers:

A. President:

Commissioner K. Evans made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Kinnane to open the nominations for president. Motion carried by voice vote.

Commissioner Kinnane made a motion, seconded by Commissioner R. Evans to nominate Robert Kaplan for President.

Commissioner K. Evans made a motion, seconded by Commissioner McGinn to nominate Lili Kilbridge for President.

Commissioner Kinnane made a motion, seconded by Commissioner R. Evans to close the nominations for president. The motion carried by voice vote.

President Kaplan asked for the vote to approve Robert Kaplan for president.

On a Roll Call: Carried 4-3-0

Ayes: 4 Chhatwani, R. Evans, Kinnane, Kaplan

Nays: 3 K. Evans, Kilbridge, McGinn,

Absent: 0

Majority rules: Robert Kaplan has been elected President.

B. Vice President:

Commissioner K. Evans made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Kinnane to open the nominations for vice president. Motion carried by voice vote.

Commissioner K. Evans made a motion, seconded by Commissioner McGinn to nominate Lili Kilbridge for Vice President.

Commissioner McGinn made a motion, seconded by Commissioner R. Evans to close the nominations for vice president. The motion carried by voice vote.

President Kaplan asked for a vote to approve Lili Kilbridge for vice president. The motion carried by voice vote.

5. **Appointment of Officers:**

A. Treasurer:

Commissioner Kinnane made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Chhatwani to appoint Commissioner K. Evans as Treasurer. The motion carried by voice vote.

B. Assistant Treasurer:

Commissioner Kilbridge made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Chhatwani to appoint Director of Finance and Administration Nicole Hopkins as Assistant Treasurer. The motion carried by voice vote.

C. Secretary:

Commissioner R. Evans made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Chhatwani to appoint Executive Director Talsma as Secretary. The motion carried by voice vote.

D. Assistant Secretary:

Commissioner Kilbridge made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Chhatwani to appoint Commissioner R. Evans as Assistant Secretary. The motion carried by voice vote.

6. Annual Appointments:

A. Attorney:

Commissioner Kinnane made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Kilbridge to appoint Ancel Glink as Attorneys for the park district. The motion carried by voice vote.

B. NWSRA Member District Representative:

Commissioner Chhatwani made a motion, seconded by Commissioner McGinn to appoint Executive Director Talsma as NWSRA Member District Representative. The motion carried by voice vote.

C. NWSRA Member District Alternate Representative:

Commissioner K. Evans made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Chhatwani to appoint Director of Recreation Alisa Kapusinski as NWSRA Member District Alternate Representative. The motion carried by voice vote.

7. <u>Committee Appointments:</u>

A. Administration & Finance Committee:

Commissioner K. Evans made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Chhatwani to appoint Commissioner McGinn as Chairman of the Administration & Finance Committee and Commissioner Kilbridge as the Vice Chairman, as well as to appoint Steve Winner, Kathy Musial, Hosep Utas, Mandar Kulkarni and Denise Wilson as Community Representatives to the Administration & Finance Committee. The motion carried by voice vote.

B. Building and Grounds:

Commissioner Kinnane made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Kilbridge to appoint Commissioner Kinnane as Chairman of the Building & Grounds Committee

and Commissioner R. Evans as the Vice Chairman, as well as to appoint Marc Friedman, Chad Bettencourt, Lauren Sernett, Suzanne Poeschel and Patricio Aguilar as Community Representatives to the Building & Grounds Committee. The motion carried by voice vote.

C. Recreation Committee:

Commissioner McGinn made a motion, seconded by Commissioner R. Evans to appoint Commissioner K. Evans as Chairman of the Recreation Committee and Commissioner Chhatwani as Vice Chairman, as well as to appoint Hap Wittkamp, Linda Dressler, Pearl Henderson, Ian Macdonald, and Chris MacGregor as Community Representatives to the Recreation Committee. The motion carried by voice vote.

D. Senior Liaison:

Commissioner Chhatwani made a motion, seconded by Commissioner McGinn to appoint Commissioner R. Evans as the Liaison for the Senior Commission. The motion carried by voice vote.

E. Village Bicycle and Pedestrian Advisory Committee Liaison:

Commissioner Kilbridge made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Chhatwani to appoint Commissioner K. Evans as the Liaison for the Village Bicycle & Pedestrian Advisory Committee. The motion carried by voice vote.

F. Executive Director Review Committee Chairman:

Commissioner Kinnane made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Chhatwani to appoint President Kaplan as Chairman of the Executive Director Review Committee. The motion carried by voice vote.

8. Commissioner Comments:

Commissioner Kinnane is looking forward to another year.

9. Adjournment:

Commissioner Kinnane made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Chhatwani to adjourn the meeting at 10:04 p.m. The motion carried by voice vote.

Respectfully submitted,

Craig Talsma Secretary Annual Board Meeting May 26, 2020 – Page 5

Monica Logan Executive Assistant