

1685 West Higgins Road, Hoffman Estates, Illinois 60169 heparks.org — t 847-885-7500 — f 847-885-7523



# The mission of the Hoffman Estates Park District is to offer healthy and enjoyable experiences to our residents and guests by providing first class parks, facilities, programs and services in an environmentally and fiscally responsible manner.

## MINUTES ANNUAL BOARD MEETING May 19, 2015

## 1. <u>Roll Call:</u>

An annual meeting of the Hoffman Estates Park District Board of Commissioners was held on May 19, 2015 at 7:25 p.m. at the Triphahn Center in Hoffman Estates, IL.

Present:Commissioners K. Evans, R. Evans, Kilbridge, McGinn,<br/>President BickhamAbsent:Commissioners Greenberg and MohanAlso Present:Executive Director Bostrom, Deputy Director/ A&F<br/>Director Talsma, Rec/Facilities Director Kies,<br/>Golf Director BechtoldAudience:Comm Rep Kinnane, Chhatwani, Winner, Utas, Mr.<br/>Greenberg; Chad Bettencourt 4520 Opal

## 2. <u>Pledge of Allegiance:</u>

Everyone present stood for the Pledge of Allegiance.

## 3. <u>Agenda:</u>

Commissioner Kilbridge made a motion, seconded by Commissioner R. Evans to approve the agenda as presented. The motion carried by voice vote.

## 4. <u>Comments from the Audience:</u>

None

## 5. Administer Oath to newly Elected Commissioners:

Secretary Bostrom administered the oath to Commissioner Kinnane.

## 6. <u>Election of Officers:</u>

#### A. <u>President:</u>

Commissioner Kinnane made a motion, seconded by Commissioner McGinn to open nominations for President. The motion carried by voice vote.

Commissioner McGinn made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Kinnane to nominate Commissioner Bickham for President.

With no other nominees, Commissioner McGinn made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Kilbridge to close the nomination for President. The motion carried by voice vote.

Motion to elect Commissioner Bickham to Board President carried by voice vote.

#### B. Vice President:

Commissioner Kinnane made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Kilbridge to open nominations for Vice President. The motion carried by voice vote.

Commissioner Bickham made a motion, seconded by Commissioner R. Evans to nominate Commissioner McGinn for Vice President.

With no other nominees, Commissioner Kinnane made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Kilbridge to close the nomination for President. The motion carried by voice vote.

Motion to elect Commissioner McGinn to Board Vice President carried by voice vote.

## 7. <u>Appointment of Officers:</u>

#### A. <u>Treasurer:</u>

Commissioner Kilbridge made a motion, seconded by Commissioner McGinn to appoint Commissioner Kaplan as Treasurer. The motion carried by voice vote.

## B. Assistant Treasurer:

Commissioner Kinnane made a motion, seconded by Commissioner McGinn to appoint Deputy Director Talsma as Assistant Treasurer. The motion carried by voice vote.

## C. <u>Secretary:</u>

Commissioner Kinnane made a motion, seconded by Commissioner R. Evans to appoint Executive Director Bostrom as Secretary. The motion carried by voice vote.

## D. <u>Assistant Secretary:</u>

Commissioner Kinnane made a motion, seconded by Commissioner McGinn to appoint Commissioner R. Evans as Assistant Secretary. The motion carried by voice vote.

## 8. <u>Annual Appointments:</u>

## A. Attorney:

Commissioner R. Evans made a motion, seconded by Commissioner McGinn to appoint Ancel, Glink, Diamond, Bush as Attorneys for the park district. The motion carried by voice vote.

## B. <u>NWSRA Member District Rep:</u>

Commissioner Kilbridge made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Kinnane to appoint Executive Director Bostrom as Member District Rep for NWSRA. The motion carried by voice vote.

## 9. <u>Committee Appointments:</u>

## A. <u>A&F:</u>

Commissioner Kinnane made a motion, seconded by Commissioner McGinn to appoint Commissioner Kaplan as Chairman of the A&F Committee and Commissioner McGinn as Vice Chairman. The motion carried by voice vote.

Commissioner McGinn made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Kilbridge to appoint Victor Katis, Steven Winner, Kathy Musial, Hosep Utas and Raj Chhatwani as Comm Reps to the A&F Committee. The motion carried by voice vote.

## B. <u>B&G Committee:</u>

Commissioner McGinn made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Kinnane to appoint Commissioner Kilbridge as Chairman of the B&G Committee and Commissioner Mohan as Vice Chairman. The motion carried by voice vote. Commissioner McGinn made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Kilbridge to appoint Raffi Dekirmenjian, Mark Friedman, Sue Triphahn, Paul Snyder and Chad Bettencourt as Comm Reps to the B&G Committee. The motion carried by voice vote.

## C. <u>Recreation Committee:</u>

Commissioner Kilbridge made a motion, seconded by Commissioner McGinn to appoint Commissioner Kinnane as Chairman of the Recreation Committee and Commissioner R. Evans as Vice Chairman. The motion carried by voice vote.

Commissioner McGinn made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Kilbridge to appoint Hap Wittkamp, Scott Koltz, Susan Neel, Linda Dressler & Pearl Henderson as Comm Reps to the Recreation Committee. The motion carried by voice vote.

## D. Senior Liaison:

Commissioner Kinnane made a motion, seconded by Commissioner McGinn to appoint Commissioner R. Evans as the Liaison for the Senior Commission. The motion carried by voice vote.

E. <u>Village Bike Path Committee Liaison:</u>

Commissioner R. Evans made a motion, seconded by Commissioner McGinn to appoint Mr. Keith Evans as the Liaison for the Village Bike Path Committee. The motion carried by voice vote.

F. Executive Director Review Committee Chairman:

Commissioner R. Evans made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Kilbridge to appoint Commissioner Bickham as the Executive Director Review Committee Chairman. The motion carried by voice vote.

## 10. <u>Commissioner Comments:</u>

Commissioner R. Evans said he was looking for a good year and will miss Commissioners Keith Evans and Greenberg but would want to welcome Commissioners Kinnane and Kaplan. He noted that the district had some great events over the weekend.

Commissioner Kilbridge asked who received copies of the questions and it was noted that the committee members and all board members received the questions and answers.

Commissioner McGinn congratulated the newly elected commissioners and thanked Commissioners Keith Evans and Greenberg for all their service.

Commissioner Kinnane thanked Commissioner Keith Evans for having gotten him started as a Comm Rep and Commissioner Greenberg for mentoring him.

President Bickham said it had been a good year and congratulated the elected commissioners and thanked the past commissioners for their guidance.

## 13. Adjournment:

Commissioner R. Evans made a motion, seconded by Commissioner McGinn to adjourn the meeting at 7:40 p.m. The motion carried by voice vote.

Respectfully submitted,

Dean R. Bostrom Secretary

Peggy Kusmierski Recording Secretary