HOFFMAN ESTATES PARK DISTRICT

1685 West Higgins Road, Hoffman Estates, Illinois 60169 **heparks.org** — **t** 847-885-7500 — **f** 847-885-7523







The mission of the Hoffman Estates Park District is to offer healthy and enjoyable experiences to our residents and guests by providing first class parks, facilities, programs and services in an environmentally and fiscally responsible manner.

MINUTES ANNUAL BOARD MEETING May 17, 2016

1. Roll Call:

An annual meeting of the Hoffman Estates Park District Board of Commissioners was held on May 19, 2015 at 7:20 p.m. at the Triphahn Center in Hoffman Estates, IL.

Present: Commissioners R. Evans, Kaplan, Kilbridge, Kinnane,

Mohan, McGinn, President Bickham

Absent: None

Also Present: Executive Director Bostrom, Deputy Director/ A&F

Director Talsma, Parks Director Giacalone

Audience: Comm Rep Winner, Utas, Mr. K. Evans

2. Pledge of Allegiance:

Everyone present stood for the Pledge of Allegiance.

3. Agenda:

Commissioner Mohan made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Kaplan to approve the agenda as presented. The motion carried by voice vote.

4. <u>Comments from the Audience:</u>

None

5. <u>Election of Officers:</u>

A. President:

Commissioner Kinnane made a motion, seconded by Commissioner R. Evans to open nominations for President. The motion carried by voice vote.

Commissioner McGinn made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Kilbridge to nominate Commissioner Bickham for President.

With no other nominees, Commissioner Mohan made a motion, seconded by Commissioner McGinn to close the nomination for President. The motion carried by voice vote.

Motion to elect Commissioner Bickham to Board President carried by voice vote.

B. <u>Vice President:</u>

Commissioner Kinnane made a motion, seconded by Commissioner R. Evans to open nominations for Vice President. The motion carried by voice vote.

Commissioner Kinnane made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Mohan to nominate Commissioner Kilbridge for Vice President.

With no other nominees, Commissioner Kilbridge made a motion, seconded by Commissioner McGinn to close the nomination for President. The motion carried by voice vote.

Motion to elect Commissioner Kilbridge to Board Vice President carried by voice vote.

6. Appointment of Officers:

A. <u>Treasurer:</u>

Commissioner Kinnane made a motion, seconded by Commissioner McGinn to appoint Commissioner Kaplan as Treasurer. The motion carried by voice vote.

B. Assistant Treasurer:

Commissioner Kilbridge made a motion, seconded by Commissioner R. Evans to appoint Deputy Director Talsma as Assistant Treasurer. The motion carried by voice vote.

C. <u>Secretary:</u>

Commissioner Kinnane made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Kaplan to appoint Executive Director Bostrom as Secretary. The motion carried by voice vote.

D. <u>Assistant Secretary:</u>

Commissioner McGinn made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Kinnane to appoint Commissioner R. Evans as Assistant Secretary. The motion carried by voice vote.

7. <u>Annual Appointments:</u>

A. Attorney:

Commissioner Mohan made a motion, seconded by Commissioner R. Evans to appoint Ancel, Glink, Diamond, Bush as Attorneys for the park district. The motion carried by voice vote.

B. NWSRA Member District Rep:

Commissioner R. Evans made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Kaplan to appoint Executive Director Bostrom as Member District Rep for NWSRA. The motion carried by voice vote.

8. <u>Committee Appointments:</u>

A. A&F:

Commissioner Mohan made a motion, seconded by Commissioner McGinn to appoint Commissioner Kaplan as Chairman of the A&F Committee and Commissioner Kinnane as Vice Chairman. The motion carried by voice vote.

Commissioner McGinn made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Kilbridge to appoint Victor Katis, Steven Winner, Kathy Musial, Hosep Utas and Raj Chhatwani as Comm Reps to the A&F Committee. The motion carried by voice vote.

B. B&G Committee:

Commissioner Mohan made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Kaplan to appoint Commissioner McGinn as Chairman of the B&G Committee and Commissioner Kilbridge as Vice Chairman. The motion carried by voice vote.

Commissioner Kaplan made a motion, seconded by Commissioner R. Evans to appoint Raffi Dekirmenjian, Mark Friedman, Sue Triphahn, Robert Neel and Chad Bettencourt as Comm Reps to the B&G Committee. The motion carried by voice vote.

C. Recreation Committee:

Commissioner Kaplan made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Kilbridge to appoint Commissioner R. Evans as Chairman of the Recreation Committee and Commissioner Kinnane as Vice Chairman. The motion carried by voice vote.

Commissioner Kaplan made a motion, seconded by Commissioner McGinn to appoint Hap Wittkamp, Susan Neel, Linda Dressler, Pearl Henderson and Paul Snyder as Comm Reps to the Recreation Committee. The motion carried by voice vote.

D. Senior Liaison:

Commissioner Kinnane made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Kilbridge to appoint Commissioner R. Evans as the Liaison for the Senior Commission. The motion carried by voice vote.

E. <u>Village Bike Path Committee Liaison:</u>

Commissioner Kaplan made a motion, seconded by Commissioner R. Evans to appoint Mr. Keith Evans as the Liaison for the Village Bike Path Committee. The motion carried by voice vote.

F. Executive Director Review Committee Chairman:

Commissioner Mohan made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Kilbridge to appoint Commissioner Bickham as the Executive Director Review Committee Chairman. The motion carried by voice vote.

9. <u>Commissioner Comments:</u>

Commissioner R. Evans noted that the 9&Stein had gone very well and he was still searching for additional gardeners.

Commissioner Kilbridge said she was looking forward to getting to BPC.

Commissioner Mohan thanked all the Chairmen and Vice Chairmen for their participation in the past year. Annual Board Meeting May 17, 2016 - Page 5

> Commissioner McGinn congratulated President Bickham on his reelection.

Commissioner Kinnane noted that he and his 2 children were volunteering for the gardening club.

President Bickham congratulated everyone on their appointments and noted that he was looking forward to next year.

10. Adjournment:

Commissioner Mohan made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Kaplan to adjourn the meeting at 7:30 p.m. The motion carried by voice vote.

Respectfully submitted,

Dean R. Bostrom Secretary

Peggy Kusmierski Recording Secretary